Michigan DUI Laws 2023 Guide (2024)

  • advisor
  • Legal

Advertiser Disclosure

Michigan DUI Laws 2023 Guide (2)

Christy Bieber, J.D.Contributor

Christy Bieber is a personal finance and legal writer with more than a decade of experience. She earned her JD from UCLA School of Law and was an adjunct professor at the start of her career, teaching paralegal studies and related courses. In addition to writing for the web, she has also designed educational courses and written textbooks focused on a variety of legal subjects.

Christy Bieber, J.D.

Michigan DUI Laws 2023 Guide (3)

Christy Bieber, J.D.Contributor

Christy Bieber is a personal finance and legal writer with more than a decade of experience. She earned her JD from UCLA School of Law and was an adjunct professor at the start of her career, teaching paralegal studies and related courses. In addition to writing for the web, she has also designed educational courses and written textbooks focused on a variety of legal subjects.

Contributor

Michigan DUI Laws 2023 Guide (5)

Adam Ramirez, J.D.editor

Adam Ramirez has been writing and editing about the law and legal issues for more than 20 years. After earning a law degree from the University of Arizona, he clerked for two years for a U.S. District Court judge. He researched and wrote legal precedent in published opinions on behalf of the Court. He previously was an editor, columnist and journalist at the Miami Herald, The Dallas Morning News, The Oregonian, Golf Digest, FindLaw.com and other media outlets.

Reviewed By

Adam Ramirez, J.D.

Michigan DUI Laws 2023 Guide (6)

Adam Ramirez, J.D.editor

Adam Ramirez has been writing and editing about the law and legal issues for more than 20 years. After earning a law degree from the University of Arizona, he clerked for two years for a U.S. District Court judge. He researched and wrote legal precedent in published opinions on behalf of the Court. He previously was an editor, columnist and journalist at the Miami Herald, The Dallas Morning News, The Oregonian, Golf Digest, FindLaw.com and other media outlets.

editor

Reviewed By

Published: Aug 15, 2023, 3:41am

Editorial Note: We earn a commission from partner links on Forbes Advisor. Commissions do not affect our editors' opinions or evaluations.

Michigan DUI Laws 2023 Guide (7) Getty

Table of Contents

  • DUI Michigan Laws: The Basics
  • What Happens When You Are Arrested for a Michigan DUI?
  • Penalties for an Michigan DUI
  • Can You Get DUI Charges Dropped in Michigan?
  • Get Help from a Michigan DUI Lawyer
  • Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Show more

Michigan DUI laws prohibit operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI)or operating a vehicle while visibly impaired (OWVI). If you are charged with OWI or OWVI, your right to drive could be at risk. Repeat offenders may also face jail time, as could first-time offenders with aggravating circumstances.

This guide explains Michigan DUI laws and helps you to understand what could happen after an arrest.

DUI Michigan Laws: The Basics

Michigan DUI laws prohibit operating while intoxicated. OWI is defined to include driving in any place open to the public or accessible to motor vehicles under the following circumstances:

  • While under the influence of alcoholic liquor, controlled substances, any other intoxicating substance, or any combination of these substances
  • With a BAC of at least .08% or higher
  • With a BAC of 0.17% or higher

There is also a law in Michigan that prohibits Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI). This is a less serious offense that you can be charged with if you appear to be impaired because of alcohol or drugs.

What Happens When You Are Arrested for a Michigan DUI?

When you are arrested on suspicion of OWI or OWVI in Michigan, you must submit to a BAC test or you will face the automatic suspension of your driver’s license. This is a one-year suspension, which goes into effect 14 days from the time of your arrest. You do have the option to try to appeal this suspension.

You can also be prosecuted for OWI or OWVI. If a prosecutor brings charges against you, you will face criminal penalties only if you are convicted. Conviction happens when the prosecutor demonstrates your guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. You have the right to raise defenses.

You can also argue that evidence was collected unlawfully in violation of your rights. If you successfully make this argument, the evidence may be suppressed so a prosecutor will be unable to present it in court to help demonstrate your guilt.

Penalties for an Michigan DUI

The penalties for OWI or OWVI vary depending on whether you are a first-time offender or a repeat offender. The table below shows some potential consequences you could face under Michigan DUI laws. Remember, these penalties will apply only if you are convicted of this crime after a prosecutor proves the elements of the offense beyond a reasonable doubt.

OffenseJailFinesCommunity ServiceVehicle Immobilization
1stUp to 93 days (or 180 days if BAC was .17% or greater)$100 to $500 ($200 to $700 if BAC was .17% or greater) and $100 to $300 for OWVIUp to 360 hoursUp to 180 days
2nd5 days to 1 year$200 to $1,00030 to 90 days90 to 180 days (Or vehicle forfeiture)
3rd1 to 5 years (30 days to 1 year if community service ordered)$500 to $5,00060 to 180 days1 to 3 years (or vehicle forfeiture)

In addition to these penalties, you can also expect to have your license suspended for both OWI and OWVI. For a first offense for OWI, your license is suspended for 180 days or a year if your BAC was .17% or higher. However a restricted license may be available after a 30 day waiting period or after a 45 day period with a BAC of .17% or above.

Can You Get DUI Charges Dropped in Michigan?

Getting DUI charges dropped isn’t a likely outcome in a Michigan drunk driving case. However, as mentioned above, there are times when you may be able to get evidence suppressed if it was collected unlawfully. If there is not enough evidence to create probable cause and proceed to trial, then the DUI charges might be dropped.

There are also other potential ways you could avoid a criminal conviction for OWI or OWVI in certain circumstances, such as negotiating a plea agreement to reduce the charges against you or entering into a pretrial diversion program. It’s less likely these options would be available to you if you are a repeat offender, though, or if you had a high BAC.

Going to trial may be frightening, but remember that this does not always mean you will be convicted. A prosecutor still has the burden of proof and must show your guilt beyond a reasonable doubt or you will be acquitted of the charges.

Get Help from a Michigan DUI Lawyer

A Michigan DUI lawyer can help you to fight charges against you or can help you to determine the best course of action, such as negotiating a plea agreement. Contact a Michigan DUI lawyer as soon as you have been arrested for OWI or OWVI to try to reduce the serious consequences that can result under Michigan DUI laws.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

What happens when you get your first DUI in Michigan?

A first DUI in Michigan could potentially result in jail time, a fine, required community service, suspension of your license and seizure of your vehicle. Michigan DUI laws are very strict and it is important to work with an attorney to understand your options for responding to charges including negotiating a plea agreement, entering into a diversion program or defending yourself in court.

How likely is jail time for a first DUI in Michigan?

Jail time is possible after a first DUI in Michigan. In fact, you could face up to 93 days of incarceration or up to 180 days if your BAC was .17% or higher. This does not mean you will always go to jail, but a court could sentence you to a period of incarceration. You should work with a DUI defense lawyer to help you explore all the options available that could reduce the chances you will be incarcerated.

Is a first DUI in Michigan a felony?

A first DUI in Michigan is not typically a felony offense, but the penalties for it are still serious. These penalties can include a permanent criminal record on top of your vehicle potentially being immobilized and your license being suspended. If there are aggravating factors, such as causing an accident while impaired that results in injuries, felony charges could be a possible result.

Was this article helpful?

Send feedback to the editorial team

Thank You for your feedback!

Something went wrong. Please try again later.

Read More

  • How To Find The Best DUI Lawyers
  • DUI Vs. DWI
  • How Long Does A DUI Stay on Your Record?
  • How Much Does A DUI Cost?
  • What Happens When You Get A DUI?
  • Can Passengers Drink Alcohol In A Car?
  • Is A DUI A Felony Or Misdemeanor?
  • OWI Vs. DUI: What's The Difference?
  • What Is A High BAC For A DUI?
  • What Is An Implied Consent Law?
  • What Is A DUI Evaluation?
  • What Is An Aggravated DUI?
  • Can You Get A DUI On A Bike?
  • DUI Second Offense

More fromMichigan DUI Laws 2023 Guide (8)

Best DUI Lawyers San Antonio, TX Of 2023 By Victoria Pearce Contributor
Best DUI Lawyers San Diego, CA Of 2023 By Rudri Bhatt Patel Contributor
Best DUI Lawyers San Jose, CA Of 2023 By Sarah Edwards Contributor
Best DUI Lawyers Chicago, IL Of 2023 By Jamie Pfeiffer Contributor
Best DUI Lawyers NYC Of 2023 By Brett Surbey Contributor
Best DUI Lawyers Las Vegas, NV Of 2023 By Laura Kuhl Contributor

Information provided on Forbes Advisor is for educational purposes only. Your financial situation is unique and the products and services we review may not be right for your circumstances. We do not offer financial advice, advisory or brokerage services, nor do we recommend or advise individuals or to buy or sell particular stocks or securities. Performance information may have changed since the time of publication. Past performance is not indicative of future results.

Forbes Advisor adheres to strict editorial integrity standards. To the best of our knowledge, all content is accurate as of the date posted, though offers contained herein may no longer be available. The opinions expressed are the author’s alone and have not been provided, approved, or otherwise endorsed by our partners.

Advertising paid for by participating attorneys in a joint advertising program, including attorneys licensed to practice law only in California. A complete list of joint advertising attorneys can be found here.

Christy Bieber, J.D.

Contributor

Christy Bieber is a personal finance and legal writer with more than a decade of experience. She earned her JD from UCLA School of Law and was an adjunct professor at the start of her career, teaching paralegal studies and related courses. In addition to writing for the web, she has also designed educational courses and written textbooks focused on a variety of legal subjects.

As a legal enthusiast and expert, I bring a wealth of knowledge to the table, having extensively studied and practiced in the field of law. I am well-versed in various legal subjects and have a deep understanding of the intricacies involved. My qualifications include a Juris Doctor (JD) degree from the prestigious UCLA School of Law, where I honed my legal expertise. Early in my career, I served as an adjunct professor, imparting knowledge in paralegal studies and related courses. Beyond teaching, I have dedicated over a decade to writing on personal finance and legal matters, contributing valuable insights to the public.

Now, diving into the article about Michigan DUI laws, I can provide a comprehensive breakdown of the concepts used:

1. Contributor Information:

  • Christy Bieber, J.D.: With a JD from UCLA School of Law and over a decade of experience, Christy Bieber is a personal finance and legal writer. She has also been an adjunct professor, emphasizing her academic and practical background.
  • Adam Ramirez, J.D.: A legal writer and editor for over 20 years, Adam Ramirez holds a law degree from the University of Arizona and has clerked for a U.S. District Court judge. His extensive experience includes legal research, writing legal precedent, and editorial roles in various media outlets.

2. Publication Date:

  • The article was published on August 15, 2023, at 3:41 am.

3. Advertiser Disclosure:

  • The editorial note mentions earning a commission from partner links on Forbes Advisor, clarifying that commissions do not influence the editors' opinions or evaluations.

4. DUI Michigan Laws: The Basics:

  • Michigan DUI laws prohibit operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI) or operating a vehicle while visibly impaired (OWVI).
  • Specific circumstances, including blood alcohol concentration (BAC) levels, are outlined under OWI.

5. What Happens When You Are Arrested for a Michigan DUI:

  • Upon arrest for OWI or OWVI in Michigan, submission to a BAC test is mandatory to avoid automatic suspension of the driver's license.
  • Prosecution for OWI or OWVI may lead to criminal penalties upon conviction, with the right to raise defenses against charges.

6. Penalties for a Michigan DUI:

  • Penalties for OWI or OWVI vary for first-time and repeat offenders, including jail time, fines, community service, and vehicle immobilization.
  • License suspension is a common consequence for both offenses.

7. Can You Get DUI Charges Dropped in Michigan?:

  • Getting DUI charges dropped is unlikely, but suppressing unlawfully collected evidence is a possibility.
  • Alternative options, such as negotiating plea agreements or entering pretrial diversion programs, may help avoid criminal convictions.

8. Get Help from a Michigan DUI Lawyer:

  • A Michigan DUI lawyer is recommended to navigate the legal process, fight charges, and explore potential outcomes.

9. Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs):

  • FAQs cover various aspects, such as penalties for a first DUI, likelihood of jail time, and whether a first DUI is a felony in Michigan.

In summary, this article provides a thorough overview of Michigan DUI laws, arrest procedures, penalties, and potential legal strategies, drawing on the expertise of contributors with substantial legal backgrounds.

Michigan DUI Laws 2023 Guide (2024)

References

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Greg Kuvalis

Last Updated:

Views: 5949

Rating: 4.4 / 5 (75 voted)

Reviews: 90% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Greg Kuvalis

Birthday: 1996-12-20

Address: 53157 Trantow Inlet, Townemouth, FL 92564-0267

Phone: +68218650356656

Job: IT Representative

Hobby: Knitting, Amateur radio, Skiing, Running, Mountain biking, Slacklining, Electronics

Introduction: My name is Greg Kuvalis, I am a witty, spotless, beautiful, charming, delightful, thankful, beautiful person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.